home ICANN, Domains Hiro Hotta and Patricio Poblete are 2017 Multistakeholder Ethos Award winners

Hiro Hotta and Patricio Poblete are 2017 Multistakeholder Ethos Award winners


The Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN) has announce the recipients of the 2017 Multistakeholder Ethos Award. This year, the community evaluation panel recognized two long-time members of the ICANN community: Hiro Hotta and Patricio Poblete. The awards were presented today at ICANN59 in Johannesburg, South Africa.

The Multistakeholder Ethos Award honors members of the ICANN community who have made outstanding contributions to ICANN’s multistakeholder model of Internet governance. Hiro Hotta and Patricio Poblete were selected from a list of 14 nominees as those who best demonstrate the spirit of collaboration, strongly promoting consensus. These recipients have proven their commitment to ICANN’s multistakeholder model through decades of active participation and dedication.

Hiro Hotta, based in Japan, was recognized for his unwavering commitment to volunteer service, serving in ICANN’s community for over 18 years. Starting in 1999, he spent 2 years as a member of the Names Council of the ICANN Domain Name Supporting Organization (DNSO). He is one of the most long-standing members of its successor body, the Country Code Names Supporting Organization (ccNSO) Council. Hiro embodies the spirit of the Multistakeholder Ethos Award through his keenness to engage at all times with fellow councilors and other community members to mobilize consensus on critical policy decisions that affect the names community and ICANN.

Chile’s Patricio Poblete is recognized for his participation in the ICANN process before the incorporation of ICANN itself. Like Hiro, he was also a member of the DNSO. Patricio was instrumental in moving this diverse community forward to create what today are called the ccNSO, Generic Names Supporting Organization (GNSO), Business Constituency, and Intellectual Property Constituency. He was then one of the original councilors of the ccNSO, on which he served until 2011.


Launched in 2014 at ICANN50 in London, the Multistakeholder Ethos Award recognizes ICANN participants who have invested in consensus-based solutions, acknowledged the importance of ICANN’s multistakeholder model of Internet governance, and contributed in a substantive way to the higher interests of ICANN’s organization and community.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *