home Apps, social media Facebook adds bulk app and old posts deletion tool

Facebook adds bulk app and old posts deletion tool

Share

Facebook is launching a new Manage Activity feature that will let users delete their old posts and apps. It can be used to delete individual posts or in bulk, and Facebook says it will offer filtering options to help find posts with specific people in them or in a certain time range. The feature will come to Facebook’s mobile apps first.

According to Facebook, the feature is meant “to make it easy for you to curate your presence on Facebook to more accurately reflect who you are today.” As an example, it suggests that someone might want to delete old content when they’re about to start working full time after college or remove posts that remind them of an old relationship.

Till date, users have had to navigate their way into Facebook’s privacy settings to remove third-party apps so that they no longer had access to personal data. The process had to be repeated for every third-party app being removed which has always been a time-consuming process.

Facebook’s new bulk app-removal tool makes it much easier for users to review which apps they want to stop sharing data with.

Users who would like to batch-delete or archive old content will now search their Facebook posts using filters for dates, people tagged, and content type to delete.

How To Delete Your Old Facebook Posts

  1. Get to your profile. It’s better when you use a desktop: Better to see all your embarrassing posts on a larger screen
  2. Under the status box, you will see a button marked “Manage posts”. Click on it.
  3. From here, you can filter the posts by
    • date, and go back to the start of your timeline on Facebook.
    • Select the year, and then you’ll see all the posts from that time.
  4. Then, click on the posts you want to remove. You can pick multiple from different years and times. It includes pictures and text posts.
  5. Facebook will give you the option to hide or delete the posts. If you choose to hide them, only you will be able to see them.
  6. If you choose to delete them, your posts are gone forever, poof…like the wind. So be careful about which memories you want to let go of.

To find the tool on the Facebook Android or iOS app,  click on the ‘Settings and Privacy’ menu where you select Account Settings then head lower to find ‘Apps’ button. Select the ‘Logged in with Facebook’ option. This opens the bulk app removal tool where users can simply go ahead and select the apps to be removed.

Share

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 359 other subscribers

TAGS:

James Barnley

I’m the editor of the DomainingAfrica. I write about internet and social media, focusing mainly on Domains. As a subscriber to my newsletter, you’ll get a lot of information on Domain Issues, ICANN, new gtld’s, Mobile technology and social media.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *